NSCC Trip to Belize

What a busy couple of weeks it has been at the end of May! Every year TIDE Tours (the company that I work for) organizes a 10 day trip to Belize for a Canadian Community Collage from Nova Scotia (NSCC for short). I’m responsible for organizing and implementing the trip. It is always a lot of work to set everything up with all the hotels, restaurants and tour operators throughout Belize but the busy part is when the students are actually here.

Making sure that 25 students get all the attention they need and that everything is running smoothly (in Belize it is quite challenging – the smooth bit at least) is almost a 24 hour a day job for those days they are here. Nevertheless the trip went well and everybody had a great time.

San Jose Village, BelizeI spent a couple of days with the group and my camera on the road. I was taking pictures for my own pleasure and not giving it much thought until the students started asking me if I’m a pro photographer (guy with a big looking camera with an even bigger lens must be a professional right? 😉 ) and if  I will be putting the pictures on-line on my website. I told them sure I will. So now I’m thinking if they like the photos and they are back home in Canada they might want some of them to print out. And that got my head all spinning with ideas how I should go about it. After a while I settled on the plan that I will create a sub-domain on my website and I will upload the galleries of pictures from the trip directly from my Lightroom to the website. The galleries are here, here and here. Then I created a Payment Page on my website with a PayPal button that allows people to purchase any amount of prints they like.

Now when I’m putting up this blog, it has been a month from the time that I put it all together. So far I haven’t had any takers on the pictures but I have had a lot of visits to my website. Well I guess that we all have to start with the baby steps.

Anyway thanks for reading and have a quick look at my new galleries:

http://www.karelkuranphotography.com/

About Karel Kuran

I'm freelance photographer living in Southwest of England. I am a proud member of The Royal Photographic Society. My work has been published in books and magazines over the last few years in different countries around the world. My Olympic Torch image is a winning picture from the Amateur Photographer / BT Spirit of the Olympics competition. As a result of this competition the image has been published in London 2012 Olympic Games promotional materials. You can also find me on the RED BUBBLE, FLICKR and FACEBOOK communities where much of my work is also displayed. I am always learning new skills and techniques and if you have any advice or comments about my work I would love to hear from you. My website is: http://www.karelkuranphotography.com/ My Facebook Page is: https://www.facebook.com/karelkuranphoto
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment